Nirgudi is a common plant in Maharashtra India. It has other names in the different States of  India . It is believed to have curative benefits. Grown has hedges and can act as a natural fence.

Nirgudi plant

A Nirgudi plant in my garden

A common folklore is that Nirgudi leaves have amazing curative and healing properties (desi remedies or gharelu nuske). Villagers use this herb to provide relief for joint pains and swelling in the limbs. The common practice is to wrap these leaves around the affected limb and keep in place with a bandage or a piece of cloth.  Another way is to prepare a paste by boiling the leaves and applying it on the joint.

A hardy plant which needs very little water and manure. Has high sustainability and grows best naturally.

I need to confirm more on the medicinal uses from my friends who practice Ayurveda. Will up date the post on tips received.

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

5 responses »

  1. Dilip Naidu says:

    Thanks for the visit! Your blog is creative and inspirational. I am sure my viewers will enjoy viewing it! 🙂

  2. Angad says:

    I want to do herbal farming and i want some guidance about it and nirgudi seeds prices in India.

  3. yechblog says:

    Yes nirgudi leaves have curative properties. I have tried using the nirgudi oil on my mom who has rheumatic arthritis and it is just amazing…now trying applying the leaves on the joint to check if it reduces stiffness.

Leave a Reply

