Origin

‘The herb wherever it grows wild denotes a pure atmosphere, and was thought to enliven the spirits by the fragrance which it diffuses into the air around. The Romans gave Thyme as a sovereign remedy to melancholy persons’. Information obtained from ‘Botanical.com – A Modern Herbal.

Brief description

Thyme bush - Jugnoo Farms

The root is woody and fibrous, the stems numerous and rising from 4 inches to 1-1/2 foot high. Leaves are 1/8 inch broad and tapering.

It is one of my hardiest herbs and stays good in all seasons. It propagates easily. You can cut and it will grow back fast.

Its leaves are strongly scented spicy and aromatic flavor.

Few common uses

Thyme is a common household spice that has many curative values.

We use Thyme with other herbs for making herbal tea. It has a distinct lemony flavor and gives a refreshing feeling.

Thyme is quite effectively for soothing a sore throat. Thyme can also be used as an antiseptic mouthwash or as a mouth freshener. Some friends have used it as an excellent remedy for headache.

Culinary

It can be used to flavor meat, fish and poultry dishes. It is also used in herb butters and cottage cheese. Chop and use with discretion.

More information from herb growers invited please. Thanks.

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

2 responses »

  1. Pranali says:

    I recently came across your blog and its so much fun to read about these great herbs. I want to start a small herb garden myself in my backyard. could you please tell me from where I could get thyme seeds/ saplings?
    Regards,
    Pranali

    • Dilip says:

      Hey Pranali so nice to know you are fond of herbs too. I am sure you will enjoy growing herbs in your garden. Thyme is easy to grow and maintain. I had got the seeds from the US but I will find out from some local shops in Pune and let you know. Even a few strands of thyme plant when buried in the soil catch root very fast.

      Wish you all the best!

Leave a Reply

