Kaffir lime leaves or (Bai Makrut in Thai) are extensively used in Southeast Asian cuisine especially Thai cuisine. Over the past few years the popularity and demand for Kaffir Lime leaves has grown considerably. Its raining nowadays  and the Kaffir Lime bush aroma  is so refreshing  that you cannot but stop and breathe deeply. I am compelled to write another post on it.

Kaffir Lime plant at Jugnoo farms

It was on the recommendation of Malaka Spice a well known Southeast Asian restaurant in Pune that we started growing this plant in Jugnoo Farms. The leaves of the Kaffir lime tree are dark green in color with a glossy sheen. Kaffir lime leaves grow in doubles. The best part is that the plant is remains pest free through the year.

Incomparable flavor of Kaffir Lime leaves

Its fragrant leaves, zest, and juice are used in Thai, Cambodian, and Indonesian cuisine to give incomparable flavor to certain dishes. Our plants have grown like large bushes and are now about 6 years old. But have never borne fruits. The leaves are the richest parts of the plant as such we don’t miss the fruits. Just a few leaves are enough to flavor a pot full of soup.

Kaffir Lime bush at Jugnoo Farms

Kaffir lime leaves for dental health

The leaves can be rubbed on to gums and teeth for total dental health. The essential oil in the leaves is extracted and used for various purposes. Also a digestive aid with many known health benefits.

Kaffir Lime Plant and well being

The aroma of the leaves is rejuvenating; add a few drops of oil or a few crushed leaves to your bath and you will feel your negative thoughts ease away.  A feeling of well-being is guaranteed.

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

35 responses »

  1. Dilip says:

    What a lovely surprise Amrita. Jugnoo Farms extends a heart welcome to you. I did not know that Kaffir lime (‘Gandharaj Lebu’) is used to flavor Bengali cuisine. Are you by chance a ‘foodie’? When in Kolkota I tasted many kind of Bengali fish preparations 🙂

    Bye now and all the best to you. Regards.

  2. Dilip says:

    Hey Amrita,

    So nice that you liked my Jugnoo Farms. I feel encouraged. Yes most welcome but it is a rustic village type scene 🙂 Great to know you love to cook. It is said that cooking with interest releases stress – of course it doesn’t apply to you.

    BTW I don’t have a face-book account to give my blog link to Kingshuk’s lovely article for more people to read. Lots of my LinkedIn group have seen the article.

    Take care and wish you all the best in IGNOU exams.

    With kind regards!

    Dilip Sir

  3. Hello,

    I think my husband spoke to you. We are into cultivation of herbs and plantation crops near bangalore and near Chamarajnagar.

    It was nice to see the colour capsicums at your farm. We are looking for kaffir plants.

    Please visit our site.

    Regards
    Savitha

  4. Mahua says:

    Hi,

    I am interested in knowing if you sell kaffir lime plants, If yes I would like to buy a couple from you.

    Please let me know if its possible. This is for my personal garden.

    Thanks

    • Dilip says:

      Hi Mahua … welcome to this blog! I only sell the leaves. That’s the only thing I can offer.

      Cheers & have a nice day!

      • Abdul Razzaq Naidu says:

        Hi, Dilip:

        I am based in Bangalore and would like to buy the leaves. It is for my personal consumption. My contact number is 0-990-175-5944.

        Have a good one!

        Abdul Razzaq Naidu.

  5. Fatema says:

    Hi,

    I’m from Pune and was looking for kaffir lime leaves. Is your farm nearby? I couldn’t find an address.

    • Dilip says:

      Hi and and welcome to my blog. My sincere apologies for the delay in response which was due to some professional preoccupations.

      Re: Kaffir lime leaves I’d love to give you some. If the requirement is for your personal needs then I could arrange to give you a packet or two with our compliments. If you need larger quantities then do let me have more details.

      Regards.

  6. Fatema says:

    Thank you for your response. You guessed right, It is for my personal use. i would love to have some, if not for anything else than the experience of cooking with them since the flavour is supposed to be irreplaceable with any other ingredients.
    Thank you for your offer, and how will I be able to get them from you?

    • Dilip says:

      Hello maam that’s nice. My farm-person does some deliveries in Koregaon Park to hotels. If you are near-about he can hand it over … alternatively we might keep some packets of different herbs for retail sale in Natures Bounty at Koregaon Pk North rd … this practice was discontinued but we will ask them … you could then pick-up your requirements periodically ..

      With kind regards!

      • Fatema says:

        My address is Flat No. 11, Morning Glory, Road No. 2A, kalyaninagar, Pune – 411006. You can tell me if this address is convenient for him to deliver to. If not let me know when you start retailing. Thank you so much.

  7. Rohit Jain says:

    Hi Dilip,
    Hope you doing good! I am looking for fresh kaffir ime leaves for commercial purpose. I wondering if you could help me out.
    I am based in bangalore and wants to buy on aregular basis for a restaurant.

    My mobile no. is +91 90086 22092.

    • Dilip says:

      Hi Rohit,

      Great to know you have a restaurant in Bangalore. I have only 3 plants and I am supplying locally in Pune. Is there any point of collection where we could deliver? Also how much and how frequent?

      Cheers!

  8. Rohit Jain says:

    Hi Dilip, I need 2KG to start with asap and later every month about 5 KG. Also for how long can I deep freeze it.
    I can e-mail my address to you… is it possible to courier it?

    HIGH ON THAI
    No. 276, 2nd Floor, above Girias, 100 Ft road, Indiranagar Bangalore-38

    Cheers!

  9. dilipnaidu says:

    Hey Rohit,

    I feel sorry to dissapoint you. I do not send stuff out of Pune as I am not geared for full fledged commercial activities. Also summer time such large quantities (2 to 5 kg) would be tough even for Pune.

    Hope you don’t mind. Regards.

  10. RAdhika says:

    Hello Dilip,

    How are you ? Excellent work blog and farm. Came across your blog looking for kafir lime leaves in Kalyani nagar.
    I checked with Nature’s bounty in Krgn Park. They said they do not stock fresh leaves.

    Where can I buy the kafir lime leaves from your farm at Pune? Please let me know.

    Ideally I need 2 packets per week. I make a lot of thai curries. I used to pick them up from Spar. However currently i am not able to locate them at Spar or Nature’s basket.

    Thank you,
    Radhika

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Radhika,

      Nice of you to appreciate. Being summer time the Kaffir Lime leaves are barely sufficient for my regular customers. I would love to provide you your requirement the moment the situation improves after onset of monsoons.

      With kind regards & cheers 🙂

      Dilip

      • RAdhika says:

        Thank you Dilip. Where can we buy your products from ? Please could you let me know.

        Thanks and regards,
        Radhika.

      • dilipnaidu says:

        I have no clue where else. Truly sorry Radhika 😦
        BTW when you say packets what quantity? This is for future 🙂
        Dilip

  11. RAdhika says:

    Sure..
    http://www.myjhola.in/wp-content/uploads/blogger/29-IMG_4741.JPG There are some packets on this photo. I need two such packets per week.
    Thanks much,
    Radhika.

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hey Radhika,

      Thanks so much. I am so keen that I get enough during the monsoons for your use. Will send you an email in due course.

      With kind regards,

      Dilip

  12. George Verghese says:

    Hi Dilip,

    Is there a way you could supply some Kaffir Lime leaves, maybe about 1 KG. I am based out of Bangalore but I should be able to have someone pick up the same for the same. Thanks. George

    • Dilip says:

      Hello George,
      I wish I could help. I can barely meet the requirements of my regular customers. And in summer the leaves are sparse. Hope you understand.

      With kind regards!

  13. Isidore says:

    Hi Mr.Dilip,
    I have recently launched a thai restaurant in chennai and i’m looking for regular supply of kaffir lime leaves, is there any possibility you could do that ?

  14. Kalidasan says:

    Hi please.
    This is kalidasan from india. Am looking kaffir lime seeds or plant please.

  15. Kalidasan says:

    Hi please.
    This is kalidasan from chennai. Am grower and supplier of exotic vegetables and herbs. I got one kaffir lime plant from London two years old plant. I planted two month back but just now 12 leaves coming. How to grower chennai claimants.
    email:reverside9@gmail.com

  16. kalidasan says:

    romanisco broccli good for health

  17. Melody Desouza says:

    HI Dilip, i’ve been looking for kaffir lime leaves in bangalore for a while now and every where i have been they seem to be out of stock. I use these to cook with and simply love the flavour! i wondering if you could guide me as to where i could find some please? any help would be much appreciated. thank you.

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Melody years ago a friend had given me a few seeds out of which only two
      sprouted to bushes. If I remember correctly she had sourced it from Thailand.

      My plants do not bear any fruits (lime) so no seeds 😒 I am sure some herb nurseries may be able to help.

      Cheers and regards.

Leave a Reply

