In my evening walks I sometimes came across two elderly gentlemen stopping and trying to spot presumably something interesting high up in a group of large trees near the road. I always used to wonder what makes them do this almost like a ritual and so I asked them. They had spotted a bird called ‘Bharadwaj’ which brings good luck to whoever spots it 🙂

Thereafter I too made it a point to always look up at the trees to see if I could see it. And then one day I saw – it was truly a majestic bird. Handsome dignified slightly larger than a crow with black head & tail. Its wings coppery red with brown wings. Wow I was thrilled. As given in Wiki it is also known as the Greater Coucal / Crow Pheasant (Centropus sinensis).

Our summer this year was quite severe and like other bird lovers we started keeping some water under our lime and kadipatta (curry leaves) bushes. At first we did not have any visitors but after a week some bul bul and tailor birds started coming regularly around 4 pm and sipped water and even wallowed in the water to cool off.  The one fine day who do we see? Yes the majestic and stately Bharadwaj making his entry cautiously wary initially and then strides confidently to quench is thirst. Soon after enjoying his drink he tip toed off. The best thing is that he comes almost every day around 4 pm – bringing loads of good luck.

Is the coast clear

Lemme quench my thirst

I had my fill

I'm off - ta

Hope you liked the pics?

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

12 responses »

  1. Geetha says:

    Stopping by Jugnoo on a Sunny Evening…..

    Thank you for sharing oodles of good luck with us through your portrayal of Bharadwaj.

    The Thirsty Bharadwaj and other birds drank the water lovingly provided by you and flew away happily!! And we leave Jugnoo happily too…. fully satiated with the beauty of nature, the peaceful co-existence and the wonderful way in which you have captured the essence of it through your lovely pics, words and the creative captions of course!

    Thanks and regards,

    Geetha

    • Dilip says:

      Hello Geetha,

      Lots of good luck to you. Yes the Bharadwaj’s grace was something truly beautiful – could not resist sharing it with friends.

      Kind regards 🙂

  2. Ms. Smita C Kulkarni says:

    Dear friend,

    We also get Bharadwaj in our terrace. Would you know what food we should give him? pls email on smitackulkarni@gmail.com

    Smita

    • Dilip says:

      Hello Mrs Smita,

      Welcome to this blog. Great to know that the lovely Bharadwaj comes to your terrace. So lots of good luck would come too. Frankly I have never kept anything for it to eat except water with which it quenches its thirst – in summer!

      I have observed it trying to pick up some stuff form the soil and pecking at leaves — maybe it could be hunting for insects or caterpillar.

      Bye and do visit again,

      Dilip

  3. Pratap Bhongade says:

    this morning i spotted the most beautiful , majestic bharad waj bird and was sooooo happy . for all of u who love this bird ,must see this movie PAHELI . I’m reeealy hoping to see it everyday.

  4. dilipnaidu says:

    Thank you Pratap for your visit. I awill surely see the movie Paheli.
    Cheers 🙂

  5. carol says:

    Thasnkyou for your snap, pls let us know where it is basically found, and how and where they make their nest the pattern of their nest, the seaons the lay eggs or like koel laying eggs in the others nest pls let me know through email

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hello Carol for stopping by. I am sorry I do not know about the details asked for by you. I just happen to be fascinated by its majestic look. Yes I have spotted them in Pune, Delhi and the North Eastern States of India. On my lucky day it does come to my back-yard for brief moments.

      Regards and best wishes!

  6. Dr.Ravi Moro says:

    I saved this bird this morning.It was stuck in the elevator chute of our office building,unable to escape.I called the Mumbai Fire Brigade who helped the bird to freedom.Proud to be doing a good deed.

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hello and heartiest congratulations Dr. Ravi Moro. Your act of compassion and kindness for this beautiful bird is indeed awe inspiring. I am sure the Almighty will bless you in many ways.
      And thank you so much for this gem of a comment. Indeed proud you deserve to be. Kindest regards.

  7. Ketaki kelkar says:

    Hello everyone,
    Yesterday evening I found this amazing bird in very pitying state. Few cats had chased the poor fellow by making him unable to walk & fly. I did save the bird & brought it at my home. Applied some turmeric, gave water too. Today morning I took it to the vet. Dr. Gave injection & some medication but, the bird isn’t eating anything. I tried to feed roti, bird food, fruits etc. Dr. Asked me to feed him milk by dropper if it doesn’t have anything hence I’m feeding milk by dropper. can anybody help me with it’s diet? I’m completely unaware about what to feed. I’m trying my best to keep it alive. I’m really worried coz I’m feeding him medications too by the dropper so it has to eat something.
    Plz help coz,I read it somewhere n truly believe this -“Hands that help are far better than lips that pray“
    Thanks for reading & awaiting for the advices.

  8. dilipnaidu says:

    Hi Ketaki I wish I could help. Please read my post under BIRDS heading https://jugnoofarms.wordpress.com/2010/07/15/three-little-bulbuls/

    Trust you are doing very well. Wish you a happy new year.

Leave a Reply

