When I started my wonderful experience with growing veggies in 1998 my motivation was to grow colourful bell peppers red, yellow and orange. I can say this was a pioneer product for Pune and so the demand was selective. Along with peppers I grew Broccoli, Iceberg lettuce, Snow peas, Zucchini and a few other special veggies. These veggies being new to Pune only a niche market demand could be targeted through premium retail shops like Dorabjee’s, Natures Bounty and theme restaurants.

Within a period of 10 years the market changed from a premium demand to a general demand. Prices came down rapidly well within purchasing power of many. No longer did they merit a ‘special status’. The so called special veggies started selling briskly in our main vegetable markets. The picture taken last week in our Shivaji Market shows a good range of such veggies.

However by 2001 I decided to move on to growing culinary herbs. This was mainly because I discovered herbs can be grown without use of chemicals. I only use natural pesticides like Neem extracts. Whereas veggies like bell peppers, broccoli, iceberg lettuce, zucchini need heavy doses of powerful chemicals which are harmful to health.

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

2 responses »

  1. Geetha says:

    Reverential salutations to this Hara Sahib who, in his role as an ‘Earth Warrior’, is contributing a lot to Homegrown Sustainability.

    As David Orr said:

    When we heal the earth, we heal ourselves.

    Thanks and regards,

    Geetha

    • Dilip says:

      Wow ‘Earth warrior’ that’s cool 🙂 I find this quote so full of meaning . To me ‘heal the earth’ means a caring attitude toward mother earth and all the living beings on it. In such a state we ourselves become peaceful.

      Thank you Geetha!

Leave a Reply

