On a fine winter morning while on our morning walk we were pleasantly surprised to see beautiful pink flowers in bloom. These were on some of the trees at the road side in our Society in Pune. One of our walking buddies shared some interesting information on this tree and its lovely flowers. The tree is called the Kachnar and the flowers are Kachnar flowers. The colours varied from pink to mauve.

Some friends who had more hands-on experience in preparation of this lesser known herb said the kachnar buds are boiled and used in different is used for preparing tasty vegetable dish and others said you could use the long beans seen in the picture too. They need to be washed very well before use to remove the bitter taste. Its also popularly used in non vegetarian dishes. Do visit one interesting website for details – http://nishamadhulika.com/en/368-kachnar-kali-recipe.html

The Kachnar tree is also known as the Orchid Tree. As given in the Wikipedia its botanical name is Bauhinia variegate.

I’d like to share some pictures taken of these lovely flowers. And any additional information from viewers is welcome.

Have a great day! 🙂

Kachnar Tree

Kachnar flowers

The Kachnar in bloom

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

11 responses »

  1. Karan says:

    How much time this tree take to grow??????

  2. Dilip says:

    Karan these are fairly large trees and may take about 5 years.

  3. Sonal says:

    hi, I stay in Pune and I am looking for the Kachnar buds for medical reasons. Can you tell me where I can get them. Where was this tree located in Pune.

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Sonal these are quite large trees. I am not sure what you you mean by buds? I was told by my friends that this tree is Kachnar. So I hope he is right 🙂

  4. revathi says:

    hello sir,

    I am looking for Kachnar buds and flowers in hyderabad but its not available please suggest me how can I get those?
    revathi

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi Revathi,

      Just saw your comment. I’ll make it a point to check for myself whether the flowers and buds can be seen on the trees. Will give you a reply comment soon thereafter.

      Oh how nice to know you are from Hyderabad its such beautiful place. Many good wishes to you and cheers 🙂

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hello again Revathi,

      I checked out the Kachnar Trees in our Society and found that there are no flowers in this time of the year. I saw some dried longish bean!
      Sorry about that 😦

  5. ganesh singh says:

    Punjab main kahan milega kachnar tree

  6. where the seed available

Leave a Reply

