We had a lovely crop of onions this summer. Onions are used in most Indian recipes from ages. When taken as a juice (a few tablespoons) with honey it is said to give many heath benefits like – reducing high BP and lowering cholesterol.

Organic Onions

Cheers!

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

6 responses »

  1. lubna says:

    hia i live in London and was wondering if someone could mail me some kachnar????????/ i know very silly but if you work in a farm and if you could spare me some,my mum used to cook it, i would be grateful kindest regards lubna

    • Dilip says:

      Oh Lubna … I am sorry to disappoint you but the Kachnar are tall avenue trees. And the flowers which are edible come in the season.

      But nice of you to show interest 🙂

      Cheers

  2. lessandragr says:

    My mother used to cook with lots of onions or eat them raw in her salads, and always ate garlic everyday. I don’t remember her having colds or the flu – and she lived 100.5 years!

    • dilipnaidu says:

      I welcome you to my little garden 🙂 How wonderful to know your mom lived 100.5 years. Yes we are told to eat garlic every day as it helps in keeping the cholesterol in check. Most of us in India enjoy onions in salads as well as in our food dishes.

      Thanks for your visit.

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Those onions look great! I love to cook with onions (the smell of onions sauteed in butter makes me hungry!)

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Oh I am delighted to see you here in my little farm blog – welcome Janna. Ha ha that does sound quite appetizing. Will surely try it for lunch.
      Thanks and have a lovely day 🙂

Leave a Reply

