Come summer and its fun to pass from under the shade of Banyan Trees. In contrast to the fierce sun and heat the shade of a Banyan tree is amazingly cooling – the mind too calms down. We are fortunate to have a few such precious shady spots still free of concrete high-rises. The shape of the giant tree is unique it has a luxurious canopy with aerial roots running from the branches to the ground.These pics are from near the Race Course and Koregaon Park.

Shady Banyan Tree

Shade of the Banyan Tree

Banyan Tree KGP

Banyan Tree KGP 2

Thank you

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

2 responses »

  1. Banyan tree is called as Beringin in Bali/ Indonesia. It is considered as a sacred tree in Bali. The Balinese Hindu uses its leaves as sacred ingredients for spirit purification followed the Ngaben/ cremation ceremony. Beautiful pictures, Dilip.

    • dilipnaidu says:

      I never did imagine that the Banyan is sacred in Bali too? In Hinduism, the leaf of the Banyan tree is said to be the resting place for the god Krishna.

      Indah your information on the rich Bali culture takes me to my engineering college days when my Indonesian classmate Sihala Sirait (Hope I have got his name right 🙂 used to tell me all about he beautiful Bali islands and the famous coral reefs.

      Thank you so much I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

