This beautiful tree with its purple flowers is so new to me. I am not sure if this tree grows in India. But I have spotted a few here in Texas.

image

Have a nice day friends. 🙋

About dilipnaidu

An open mind! Love to share my thoughts and a keenness to learn. An engineer and a MBA I had a wonderful innings in the Army and later moved to consultancy and teaching. My current interests are reading, music, growing culinary herbs, playing golf and yoga. I am serious on "Living life less seriously". A warm welcome to you be well and be cheerful always.

16 responses »

  1. Lt Col Clarence G Manickam says:

    Beautiful

  2. What a fabulous Tree… Beautiful.. 🙂

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Oh thank you Sue for blessing my Jugnoo blog 🙂 I thought Myrtle trees are in UK too?
      🙂

      • They maybe Dilip, within some flower Garden or large estaste with such shrubs,but If they are I have not seen them.. We do have wonderful Lilac trees out in spring though with similar colouring of blossoms..:-)

      • dilip says:

        UK in spring is very beautiful. We used to spend our holidays years ago in London and loved it.

        I am sorry Sue for not noticing your lovely comment. Have a lovely weekend.

  3. ravichandran says:

    Dear Sir

    I want to plant kafir lime, thai basil and galangal. Can you spare some seeds or saplings, by the way good blog thanks

  4. Living in Virginia, this is a common tree in many a yard and across our town’s boulevards. I never tire of seeing it–especially in bloom.

    • dilipnaidu says:

      True my daughter has a few in her yard too 🙂 We always look forward to our holidays there in Texas its beautiful and so are the people warm and friendly!

      Have a lovely week-end 🙂

  5. Maria F. says:

    A Crepe Myrtle, but I cannot see the flowers close enough. It is a tree, not a dwarf bush. Queen’s Myrtle Tree is the most splendid to me.

  6. tanyadiaries says:

    It is grown in India as well. If you read about it on Wikipedia it will say: “deciduous and evergreen trees and shrubs native to the Indian subcontinent, southeast Asia, northern Australia and parts of Oceania, cultivated in warmer climates around the world”.

    • dilipnaidu says:

      Hi and welcome. Thanks for your interest and the inputs. I’ll surely make it a point get more details from some friends who are more seasoned gardeners.

      Kind of you and regards.

  7. Sunil Kashikar says:

    I think this is Taman (तामण) the state flower of Maharashtra. Not such a rare sight in Pune or Mumbai.

Leave a Reply

